Cezar Lupu

Home » Uncategorized » Information on the Advanced Calculus II-MATH 1540 (undergraduate & graduate), Spring 2016

Information on the Advanced Calculus II-MATH 1540 (undergraduate & graduate), Spring 2016

Advanced Calculus II-MATH 1540 (undergraduate version):

  • There will be four homework assignments for this course assigned monthly. The problems will vary from standard to very difficult. I believe you are all already used to this approach after the first semester. In the end, I will help you with hints and solutions (for the difficult problems). It is important for you to learn and grasp the techniques used here. I am certain that they will be useful at some point in your life.
  • Homework is 33% of your final grade. Dr. Sparling posted the syllabus here. Homework 1 has already been posted. See here.
  • My office hours are Tuesday (4-6 PM) & Thursday (4-5 PM) in the MAC and by appointment in my office (Thackeray 415).
  • Review sessions before the exams will be announced here and via e-mail or our Facebook group so stay tuned. 

Advanced Calculus II-MATH 1540 (graduate version):

  •   Homework will be assigned by Dr. Xu and me and you can find it on my blog. I believe all the problems are suitable for the preliminary exam. Moreover, you should also have a look at the worksheets that will be posted on my blog.
  •  I will assign four HOMEWORK for this semester as follows:
  1.  HW 1-LINEAR MAPS, LIMITS, CONTINUITY AND DIFFERENTIABILITY OF FUNCTIONS OF SEVERAL VARIABLES
  2.  HW 2-THE INVERSE AND IMPLICIT FUNCTION THEOREMS; EXTREMUM PROBLEMS AND LAGRANGE MULTIPLIERS
  3.  HW 3-INTEGRAL CALCULUS FOR FUNCTIONS OF SEVERAL VARIABLES
  4.  HW4-SETS OF MEASURE ZERO AND LEBESGUE INTEGRATION
  •  I encourage you to solve as many problems as you can from the homework. All of them have the same caliber as prelim problems from previous years.
  • I would also suggest to keep an eye on the homework and exams from the undergraduate class.
  • My office hours are Tuesday (4-6 PM) & Thursday (4-5 PM) in the MAC and by appointment in my office (Thackeray 415).
  • Review sessions before the exams will be announced here and via e-mail or on our Facebook group so stay tuned.
Leave a Reply

