Cezar Lupu

Home » Uncategorized » Information about Advanced Calculus I (MATH 1530), Fall 2015-Recitations (undergraduate & graduate)

Information about Advanced Calculus I (MATH 1530), Fall 2015-Recitations (undergraduate & graduate)

Advanced Calculus I-MATH 1530 (undergraduate version):

  • There will be four homework assignments for this course. The problems will vary from standard to very difficult. In the end, I will help you with hints and solutions (for the difficult problems). It is important for you to learn and grasp the techniques used here. I am certain that they will be useful at some point in your life.
  • Homework is 40% of your final grade. Dr. Sparling posted the syllabus here. Homework 1 has already been posted here.
  • My office hours are Monday (2-3 PM) and Friday (12-1 PM and 2-3 PM PM) in the MAC and by appointment in my office (Thackeray 415).
  • Review sessions before the exams will be announced here and via e-mail and Facebook group, so stay tuned.
  • Moreover, I created a discussions group for the class here: Facebook group

Advanced Calculus I-MATH 1530 (graduate version):

  • Homework (50% of your final grade) will be assigned by me and Dr. Xu and you can also find it on my blog. Homework 1 is here. I believe most of the problems are suitable for the preliminary exam. Moreover, you should also have a look at the worksheets that I posted on my blog.
  • I assigned six worksheets for this semester as follows:
  1. SEQUENCES AND SERIES OF REAL NUMBERS
  2. GENERAL TOPOLOGY, METRIC SPACES AND CONTINUITY
  3. LIMITS AND CONTINUITY OF SINGLE VARIABLE FUNCTIONS
  4. DIFFERENTIABILITY OF SINGLE VARIABLE FUNCTIONS
  5. SEQUENCES OF FUNCTIONS, SERIES OF FUNCTIONS AND POWER SERIES
  6. RIEMANN AND RIEMANN-STIELTJES INTEGRAL OF SINGLE VARIABLE, INTEGRAL CALCULUS, FOURIER SERIES AND SPECIAL FUNCTIONS
  • I encourage you to solve as many problems as you can from these worksheets. All of them have the same caliber as the prelim problems from previous years.
  • I would also suggest to keep an eye on the homework and exams from the undergraduate class.
  • My office hours are Monday (2-3 PM) and Friday (12-1 PM and 2-3 PM PM) in the MAC and by appointment in my office (Thackeray 415).
  • Review sessions before the exams will be announced here and via e-mail and Facebook group, so stay tuned.
  • Moreover, I created a discussions group for the class here: Facebook group
Leave a Reply

